Bible Verses: A Unique Encounter While Reading A Romance Novel

By: Alden Bula

I was reading an romantic book (one of my guilty pleasures,) when I stumbled four Bible Verses. In the book, the lead male character was having lunch with the female lead and they discussed about their individual preferences. He discovered the the lady was in painting with watercolors and ink as her media. Upon knowing her interests, he volunteered his body for a tattoo and he showed several tattoo to her which included four Bible verses. She read the following references; Hosea 11:9, Micah 7:7, Joshua 1:5, and Revelations 21:4.
My mind was suddenly ignited and became interested to know what these are all about. I have these tendencies to put meaning and take some things that I read as symbols or omens for myself. So, I looked it up and discovered that:

Hosea 11:9 New International Version
I will not carry out my fierce anger, nor will I devastate Ephraim again. For I am God, and not a man– the Holy One among you. I will not come against their cities
Micah 7:7 King James Version
Therefore I will look unto the Lord; I will wait for the God of my salvation: my God will hear me.

bible

Joshua 1:5
No one will be able to stand against you all the days of your life. As I was with Moses, so I will be with you; I will never leave you nor forsake you.

Revelations 21:4
‘He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.

For a character who bordered on the bad boy image, these verses tattooed on his skin is quite an irony. After reading all those verses, I reflected that these verses were all about HOPE. It suddenly dawned on me and realized that no matter what your personality is, each one of us are hopeful. We hoped for better changes especially within ourselves. As a human being, HOPE, is the only thing left in order to be optimistic with LIFE; especially in these troubled times.

Leave a Reply

