A Week After

by: Alden I. Bula

It was quite a day. My laptop clock read that it was still 8:AM, yet, I had already burnt and smoke 5 sticks of Philip Morris. Minutes after I was done puffing my 5th stick, I opened my drawer and took one stick of cigarette and lighted one. While doing so, I felt dizzy. I closed my eyes hoping that it would soon go away. It did, but not totally. I felt sleepy so I decided to lie down on my bed, but seconds after my back touched the mattress, my world was spinning. I tried to compose a comfortable position. The dizziness was gone but I was sweating profusely. While I was recovering my sanity and breathing, crazy thoughts came into my mind. Then, I decided to try to stop smoking even if for one day and see if the vertigo would fly away.
IMG_042513_1568

It did not. But, a lot of positive thoughts came into my mind and made me wonder. So, I decided to continue with my smoking cessation activity and only to realize that I made it for a week so far. For some, this is nothing to rejoice, but with some of my friends this is akin to moving more steps than the astronauts did in Apollo landing. To motivate myself, I decided to use what I was writing all along with regard to quit smoking activities; that is to tell my friends about my decision. During my research with smoking cessation, majority of the articles I read recommended that one of the best ways to become successful with quitting smoking is to involve your friends.

I did it using my Facebook wall. I already anticipated that there would be people who will not welcome my posts with regard to updates. Regardless whether they will agree with my posts or not, I realize that the challenge was not all about friends conforming and confirming your action but it is all about being honest with what you want to tell them. Fortunately, I was and will be honest with them. I cannot deny the fact that every minute I see people inhaling cigarettes I am really tempted to break my promise. However, I constantly reminded myself that my friends have huge respect with me. Since, I already broadcasted my plan, there is nothing for me to go but move forward.

I survived the first week and am moving on to my second week. As of this writing, I am restless to be honest. I want to sleep each time I see someone smoking but I have to stay awake to monitor if I have new writing assignments. I want to smoke too when I see familiar faces in the streets inhaling more than 1000 dangerous chemicals. But, I am worried, I already experienced that the longer you stay away from smoking and you will smoke again, the dizzier you become. So I decided to prolong the agony, in order to discourage myself and make it up to 40 days, I will only have to imagine the heavy dizziness that I will suffer if I smoke again after 40 days. I feel the words “be very afraid with what you will enjoy after giving it up.”

Leave a Reply

