The Story Of Our World

Hoping for a 2nd Miss World Crown for the Philippines

My interest with Miss World began when 18 year old Sharmaine “Ruffa” Gutierrez won the Bb.Pilipinas-World title in 1993. I was disappointed that time because I was rooting for her to be our representative for Miss Universe. A lot of pageant fans were predicting her win but the Bb. Pilipinas-Universe crown went to Melinda Gallardo. (Whom I liked eventually by the way).

Dindi and Ruffa were the top two contenders in the Bb Pilipinas pageant back in 1993.


Ruffa at the evening gown competition (photo courtesy of Tony Paat)

I followed Ruffa’s Miss World journey through newspaper photos and TV news updates (no social media yet!). I was happy she placed Second Princess but at the same time was still mildly disappointed because I felt she deserved to win. From that point forward, I anticipated watching the pageant year after year.

unnamed-27

Ruffa with the First Princess Miss South Africa and…

View original post 2,096 more words

Leave a Reply

